Author: Caleb Schrock-Hurst

Alumnus of the Year 1989: Luis Gonzalez

In 1968, he became EMU’s first Puerto Rican graduate. In 2009, he became the first Puerto Rican to serve as presiding justice of the Appellate Division, First Judicial Department with jurisdiction over Manhattan and the Bronx. In the intervening decades, Luis A. Gonzalez racked up a string of other firsts for a Puerto Rican migrant … More

Alumni of the Year 1973: Arno and Jacqueline Thimm-Richardson

An international couple pres­ently living in Switzerland were named joint recipients of the seventh “ alumnus-of-the-year” award during Eastern Mennonite College’s Alumni Association banquet April 28. Arnoo (C 61) and Jacqueline (C 60, Sng61) Thimm received the award in absentia from Harley R. Showalter, Alumni Association president. Dr. Albert N. Keim, associate professor of history … More

Alumni of the Year 1974: John M. and Betty (Keener) Drescher

A Scottdale, Pa., couple who has devoted years of service to church work was named joint recipients of the eighth “alumnus-of-the-year” award during Eastern Mennonite College’s Alumni Association homecoming banquet April 27. John M. (C 51, 53) and Betty K. (CngSO) Drescher accepted the award from Fred L. Den­linger (C 58), president of EMC’s Alumni … More

Alumnus of the Year 1975: Irvin B. Horst

Irvin B. Horst (C 41), a church historian, was named Eastern Mennonite College’s 1975 “alumnus-of-the-year” during the Alumni Association’s annual Homecoming dinner Saturday night (April 26). Dr. Horst, who taught at his alma mater from 1955 to 1967, received the award “in absentia” from Alumni Association Presi­dent Fred L. Denlinger (C58). Dr. Horst’s oldest daughter, … More

Alumni of the Year 1976: B. Charles and Grace (Brackbill) Hostetter

Charles (C 48, S 54) and Grace B. (HS 36, Cng38) Hostetter were named joint recipients of Eastern Mennonite College’s tenth “alumnus-of-the-year” award dur­ing the Alumni Association’s homecoming April 24. The Hostetters completed six years of mission work in West Africa this month under the auspices of the Mennonite Board of Missions, Elkhart, Ind. They … More

Alumna of they Year 1977: Maribel Kraybill

Maribel Kraybill (C 53), prin­cipal of Locust Grove Mennonite School in Smoketown (Lancaster County), Pa., received EMC’s “alumnus-of-the-year” award during homecoming April 23. Linford K. Gehman (C 58), outgoing president of the Alumni Association, presented Miss Kraybill the citation for “ dedica­tion to Christian education at the elementary level.” The alumna was cited “ for … More

Alumni of the Year 1978: Richard and Elain (Hunter) Stoltzfus

A Harlan, Ky., couple were named joint recipients of the 1978 “ alumnus-of-the-year” award during homecoming ceremonies at EMC April 23. The Alumni Association cited Richard G. (C 59) and Elaine (Sng 62) Stoltzfus “for the quality of your dedication in the fields of medicine and education.” Dr. Stoltzfus is a physician at the Daniel … More

Alumna of the Year 1979: Miriam E. Krantz

Miriam E. Krantz (C 62, Sng 63), a nutritionist in Nepal 15 years, was named EMC’s “alumna-of-the-year” Sunday morning (Apr. 29) on homecoming weekend. Miss Krantz, a home economics education major, was cited “for your contribution to the nutrition of the people of Nepal…hearing and answering the needs of the world.” A brother, Elvin B. … More

Alumnus of the Year 1987: Donald E. Showalter

Harrisonburg attorney Donald E. Showalter has been named EMC’s 1987 alumnus of the year. This award, begun in 1967, recognizes an EMC graduate who has made a recent major achievement in his or her field. Showalter, a Broadway, Va., native, received a bachelor of arts degree in English and history from EMC in 1962. He … More

Alumna of the Year 1991: Sheryl K. Wyse

Sheryl K. Wyse was named EMC’s 1991 “alumna of the year.” The award was presented during the Sunday worship service of EMC’s homecoming and parents weekend Oct. 13. Wyse has served 24 years in the Harrisonburg city school system, including 10 years teaching first grade, three years as instructional coordinator and nine years as principal–all … More

Alumnus of the Year 1992: J. Daryl Byler

Daryl Byler of Meridian, Miss., was named 1992 “alumnus of the year.” The award was presented during the Oct. 3 convocation program of the three schols’ 75th anniversary celebration by Marlin R. Burkholder (HS 57), president of the EMHS Alumni Association, and Sue S. Herr (C 69), president of the EMC&S Alumni Association. Byler combines … More

Alumnus of the Year 1993: Henry L. Rosenberger

“For me, Business is ministry,” said Henry Rosenberger. He started a company in 1972 that has enjoyed phenomenal growth. Today Rosenberger Cold Storage and Transport in Hatfield, Pa., has six warehouses and 330 employees. It is the 13th largest in the United States, handling over a billion pounds of food a year. Rosenberger was cited … More